School Council

Willunga Waldorf School Association

School Council

The primary task of the School Council is to maintain oversight on all aspects of the school's performance in achieving the objectives of the Association as set out in the constitution.   Council meetings are usually held twice per term as a minimum.  The School Council is not directly involved in the day to day running of the school, a responsibility delegated to the Head of School.

The Council comprises 3 independent members elected by the Council, 2 members elected by the College of Teachers and 2 members elected by the Parents & Friends group.  The Head of School and Business Manager are also voting members of Council. 

Following the recent Annual General Meeting the Council Members for this year are –

            Hannah Matthews  (Council)        Kelly Ryan           (College of Teachers)

            Jason Haskett        (Council)       Andrew Banks       (College of Teachers)

            Andrew Bentley     (P&F)             Josh Anderson       (P&F)      

            Katrina Kytka (Head of School)   Graeme Tucker      (Business Manager)

Paul Rosser retired from Council at the 2017 creating a casual vacancy and expressions of interest were sought for a replacement.  In September 2017 Council appointed Grace Vai-Stierman as a member of Council in accord with clause 6.6.7 of the constitution. 

The 2017 Annual General Meeting of members was held on May 24 and the Annual Report to Members for the 2016 year is published on this site for the information of the whole school community.  Copies of the minutes of the AGM may be obtained via the Admin office on request.

<!--[if gte mso 9]> Normal 0 false false false MicrosoftInternetExplorer4 <![endif]--><!--[if gte mso 9]> <![endif]--><!--[if !mso]>

<! st1\:*{behavior:url(#ieooui) } --> <!--[endif]--><!--[if gte mso 10]> <! /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0cm; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:10.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-ansi-language:#0400; mso-fareast-language:#0400; mso-bidi-language:#0400;} --> <!--[endif]-->

School counnews


13 April 7.30pm – Music Room at Willunga Waldorf School

This meeting has been called to vote on a change to our constitution.

The motion is proposed by Katrina Kytka and seconded by Luisa Redford:

That the current constitution (Document A) be rescinded and replaced with the a revised constitution (Document B)


·        Apologies

·        Introduction and background – Katrina Kytka

·        Principles behind the changes – Bernard Thomson

·        Contributions from the floor

·        Vote

Please note that while a number of copies of the current and proposed constitution will be available at the meeting, we expect that members attending will be familiar with the documents and the key changes.





·        Membership – open at no cost to all parents and staff but must be renewed annually.

Note: All parents and staff are entitled (and encouraged) to actively participate in the life of the school and have a voice in all aspects related to the delivery of education, including the power to influence school direction. Membership specifically enables participation in governance of the Association.

·        Committees

-        College of Teachers and P&F removed as committees of Council in order to work out of their own autonomy. Relationship between Parents & Friends (P&F), College and other school bodies to be determined mutually and reflected in a Charter of Agreement.

-        Administration & Finance Committee to be renamed Compliance and Finance Committee, responsible to Council for all the legal and fiduciary obligations of the Association

·        Council – Maximum 9 and minimum 5 members including ex officio Bursar and Educational Facilitator. Council to elect the Chairperson, Secretary and Public Officer

·        Election of Council – Members to be selected by P&F (up to 2), College (2), Council (up to 3). Suggested minimum term 2 years. All Council members carry equal responsibility with voting full rights.


The final version of the proposed constitution is now available at the front office.  Please take a copy in preparation for the Special General Meeting.


Organisational review group (ORG) news

The Constitution for this school is a bit like a uniform. For the school to interact with the various governments we need to be in a proper uniform. Note the uniform does not express the entire being. Soon we will be meeting (13 April, 7.30-8.30pm) to vote on the proposed Constitution. Now is the time to ask any further questions on this matter. This year’s ORG has spent many hours working on this as mandated by last year’s AGM.

The proposed Constitution is sleek and efficient with two noticeable changes:

a)   To be an association Member you must simply sign your name at the beginning of the year, so that there is an official list of Association members.

b)   The Council will be chosen by the three responsible bodies The College of Teachers, The Parents and Friends and the Council.

As for the first change if you do not sign up at the beginning of the year you can still request that the Council sign you up. If you choose not to be an Association member you are still a member of the school and your involvement as such is not affected in any way. Association membership involves constitution and council matters only.

The final document of the proposed Constitution is available and so are the ORG members. Please ask questions now if you are confused on any matters pertaining to the document.

Finally you are all encouraged to attend the SGM to participate in this very important meeting.

Louisa, David, Katrina, Kathy and Bernard